An inspiring local story in the current edition of Autism Matters

“I Have Autism and I Need Your Help”

Greetings! If you are a member of Autism Ontario and receive the quarterly magazine called “Autism Matters” you would have read a heartwarming story about Erik, a teenager in Ottawa that has Autism. Erik wrote a letter to his teachers to let them know about some problems he encountered in the previous school years and gave recommendations on how to improve things for him, and other teens with autism that will come behind him.

Here is just a small snippet from the beginning of the article. You can really sense how well this young man knows himself:

“One of my goals this year is self-advocacy. I am going to use it now. I think you know that I have autism. I need your help. I am leaving this school soon but more children with autism will be coming to the school. I am writing this so that you know how they might feel. They need you to see things from their perspective. They will be smart kids. You just need to know the best way to teach them. I need you to pass along my message.”

You can read the PDF version of this article by clicking here:

I Have Autism and I Need Your Help

I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did! Erik is an inspiration and I thank him and his Mom for allowing us to feature this article on our blog!

HR

Leave a Reply

